Daily Prompt Response: Never Surrender

Daily Prompt, March 11

Are you stubborn as a grass stain or as easy going as a light breeze on a warm day? Tell us about the ways in which you’re stubborn — which issues make you dig your heels in and refuse to budge?

I’ve been labeled a lot of things in my life: A brat, difficult, stubborn, stuck-up, rude, thick headed, a bitch… the list goes on. 

For whatever reason, strong and devoted women aren’t always seen in a positive light, but why? As individuals we are unique and beautiful and exciting. We bring our own thoughts, actions and characteristics into this world for a reason, so why shouldn’t we take pride in that and shout them from the roof tops?

I’ll admit, I can be stubborn. But the best part about that? I’m damn proud of it. Through all of the changes in life, the failures, accomplishments, challenges – I’ve always stayed true to who I was. I’m stubborn when it comes to my faith, my beliefs. I’m stubborn when it comes to my knowledge of certain topics. I’m stubborn when I set my mind to an activity like training for a race. I’m stubborn when someone asks me to do something I’m uncomfortable with or simply don’t want to partake in.

Unfortunately, one of the hardest things to do in life is to say ‘no’ to a friend or coworker or even a complete stranger. “No, I can’t go out tonight” and “No, I’m not interested,” “No, I can’t help you with that project.” Why is it so difficult to stand up for yourself and say ‘No’? Because when a person does say no, they’re immediately labeled difficult, or stubborn – someone who isn’t a team player.

It’s as if society has turned being stubborn into a character flaw. 

Personally, I’d like to think of myself as committed, loyal, devoted and dependable, but who am I to judge? 

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt Response: Never Surrender

  1. Being stubborn is okay sometimes! And my mom has always tried to teach me it’s okay to say “No” when you’re being true to yourself (I say tried bc I tend to be a YES man ha!), as hard as it may be—gotta do your thangg! 🙂

Leave a comment