Uncategorized

Taking Life to the ‘Ville

I know, I know.

I suck.

As my fellow bloggers can attest to, there are times in a person’s life where it’s beneficial to step away from the keyboard and take a break from the public eye. Sometimes that’s needed for the bloggers own good, and sometimes it’s for the good of those around her. My recent break from my blog can be explained by the later of those two.

A lot has happened in the last month and I’m not exactly sure where to start. While it wasn’t something I could mention publicly, right around the time my mother-in-law became ill (don’t worry, she’s healthy now), Kevin and I began moving forward with a plan to relocate to Virginia and closer to family. Our intentions were to let God take control of the situation and allow it to play out as He deemed appropriate. But I don’t think we ever could have imagined things would play out as they did.

After months of applying for positions in Richmond, reaching out to contacts, reconnecting with people who could point us in the right direction, and the numerous rejections that followed, we had all but given up on the idea of VA. Suddenly, it seemed as though things were improving. One interview turned into another, and another, and another. A followup turned into a face-to-face and before we knew it we were being offered a position in non other than Charlottesville. Wait, What? Charlottesville?

Now I’m sure some of you are wondering why now? To that I would respond why not? Yes, we had a fantastic life in Charlotte with stable jobs, unfailing friendships, teams, causes and more extracurricular activities than we could really fit into the waking hours. But there was something that was always missing – Family. 

As we begin our second week here in the ‘Ville things just feel right. We’re within an hour drive of family, the running community is small but strong and holds a lot of potential for me, Kevin was given an unbelievable position with the college that’s he’s growing increasingly happy with, and there’s just something about the city that makes us feel at home.

It’s funny, I’m not sure I ever really considered Charlotte home, but more like a beautiful stop along the way.

I leave you today with a bit of advice – Don’t be afraid of taking that leap of faith, you never know where you’ll land.

2 thoughts on “Taking Life to the ‘Ville

  1. Congrats on finding a place where you feel like you’re home! My husband and I just moved to Alaska last week and we’re waiting for that feeling to start! Moving is always so scary but if you’re happy it’s worth it!

  2. Congrats and good luck!! I know about that leap of faith. Been living that for the last year.

Leave a Reply

