Uncategorized

Lost but Found

In a matter of 2 weeks, I’ve started 4-5 blog posts about random topics and occurrences, only to be so uninterested with blogging I moved onto a different task, never to return.

Can you find it in your hearts to forgive me?

Mother Nature has bypassed spring and jumped right into summer here in Charlotte. It’s 3:30 in the afternoon and we just tied out record high for the day of 86 degrees. There are still plenty of hours of daylight and if I see 90, I’m going to cower in a corner and cry.

I’m extremely excited for a weekend away with the girls. With only 1 day and 1 hour of work left before I can begin following the strict code of Island Time – not that I’m counting or anything – my eye is beginning to twitch at the thought of a beach and an adult beverage.

After a severe but quick bout with shin splits, I have returned to my usual running schedule. True to form, my first run back yesterday was awful. It was hot. It was humid, There was pollen caked in my eyes. At mile 2 of a 3 mile loop I had all but given up. If there weren’t people around, I probably would have sat down in the middle of the sidewalk and pouted. I HATE bad runs. I know they help build character and make the great runs that much more, well, great, but I still hate feeling defeated. Like a loser. I turned to my hubby as we walked the last 1/4 of a mile to the car and grumbled my distaste for the situation. I know this happens every spring, but I find it so difficult to transition from cold weather running to warm weather running. I typically enter my peak of fitness by the end of April or beginning of May and power through with the ability to run 10-15 miles straight through on any given day until November when I begin the hibernation process. With that said, building my body back up is really frustrating. And painful. 

I know many of you are rolling your eyes at me, thinking ‘she’d complain if you hung her with a new rope’ which to you I’d respond, yes – you’re right. As an aside: Who ever came up with that phrase and why in the world would someone actually not complain about being hung?

Don’t worry readers, after a weekend away to recharge I’m confident rainbow and puppy dog Stephanie will return.

3 thoughts on “Lost but Found

    1. Guuuuurl, it blows. But since we both suck currently, can we schedule a weekday morning run soon? 🙂 Can talk more at dinner tonight.

Leave a Reply

