Uncategorized

The Funk

I’ve been struggling with lack of motivation in all aspects of my life for what seems like months…

No motivation at work.
No motivation to run and workout.
No motivation to be social.
No motivation to blog. (which is crazy for my big mouth…er, fingers…)
No motivation to do anything aside from sit my butt on the couch and star blankly into the boob-tube.

Then, suddenly, this afternoon…BOOM! The motivation has returned!

I had been holding off on a minuscule project at work for forever, not because It was going to take a lot of effort, but because I had no desire to do it. As of this afternoon, I’m more than halfway done and even enjoyed doing it.

Monday of last week I had a terrible migraine and decided for everyone’s sake it was best I simply work from home. Luckily, it was one of Kevin’s flex days as well so we were able to stay home and get things accomplished together. Later that afternoon we went for a trail run at Anne Springs Close Greenway and just like that… BOOM my motivation to run returned.

I suppose I could determine this funk originated from the crap weather, cold dreary days, being unable to spend time outside and in the sun and not having all of my extra activities to keep my mind occupied. A whole slew of  excuses, really. But, I’m grateful that I seem to be coming out of it.

As Annie would say “The sun’ll come out, tomorrow!”

When you find yourself in a funk, what tips do you stand by and get yourself out?

3 thoughts on “The Funk

  1. Props to you for getting out of the ‘funk.’ I dealt with this same thing recently too. I feel like it hits me every year around this time. Weather, dark dreary days, whatever it is, it sucks. I called it losing my running mojo, but funk is also definitely what it is.
    The only way I got myself out of the funk was to push myself mentally. I wrote about exactly this in my last blog post…if you want to check it out 🙂
    Happy running!

    1. Girl! I deal with this every year TOO. It’s so frustrating. Some winters are worse than others. Loved your post and the recap on the Redding Marathon relay! I love marathons but I LOVE relays too. Just something about running with your pals that makes everything that much better. And now, I have to go find a cupcake.

  2. I really struggle with this…normally to pull myself out I have to do something completely different, maybe a short trip away, or entering a race that I’m a bit scared of 🙂

Leave a Reply

