Uncategorized

What Grinds My Gears

My real-life and blogger friend, Hayles, has been churning out some amazing thoughts in response to ‘The Daily Post’ prompts. As someone who often has issues writing about things outside of my favorite past-times, I decided to check into this idea and see if I couldn’t diversify my subject matter outside of running and food.

Today’s prompt was on perspective:

Think about something that drives you crazy. Now, think about something that makes you happy. Does it change your perspective on the former?

Okay. Maybe this is going to be a little harder than I anticipated. Those of you who really know me, know I’m extremely a bit anal and OCD, so I have quite the laundry list of things that drive me crazy depending on the situation. For all intents and purposes, let’s narrow things down and discuss something that has driven me crazy this week.

I hate being woken up just after falling asleep, or just before I actually have to wake up in the morning. No, really, if you want to witness a wrath equivalent to a toddler being told ‘no, everyone gets a cookie except you,’ then come into my bedroom making noise at one of the aforementioned times and watch my head spin in a full 360. I need a major amount of sleep to be able to function on any given day. Between training, working, coaching and housework, my body takes a beating. So, needless to say, in order for all my activities to go without a hitch, preparation begins with the slamming of my eye lids the night before. I should also note that I’m not one of those people who can fall right back to sleep once they’ve been woken up. Once conscious, it takes me a considerable amount  of time to ‘nest’ back into my comfortable spot in the bed and turn off my always churning mind.

Alright, now that we’ve addressed what drives me crazy, let’s address something that makes me happy: My husband.

Don’t get me wrong, there are moments where his entire being annoys me, but somehow my brain has been able to transcribe those annoyances into something I see as ‘so damn annoying it’s cute’. Seriously though, I love my husband more than I can adequately describe in words.

Now, while we know how much I HATE being woken up, when it occurs due to said husband doing something ‘annoyingly cute’ I don’t mind it. I may come across grumpy and straight up hateful,  but in my heart, I adore every extra waking moment I get to spend with him. I knew I was marrying the right person when my perspective on things that once drove me crazy, changed, without me even realizing it. For better or for worse, we must allow our perspective to adjust and grow just as our hearts and minds do.

Don’t worry folks, I’ll continue to discuss said favorite past-times soon, as I know your chomping at the bit for my Richmond Marathon recap.

5 thoughts on “What Grinds My Gears

Leave a Reply

