Uncategorized

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

Just weeks into the Cross Country for Youth season, my kids have won their first and second meets by a staggering amount! While I recognize that much of this is due to their natural-born talent, I must also toot my own horn being their coach. It feels good to win. Their next meet is the biggest and most important one they will participate in all season, the City Championships. Unfortunately, I’ll be running the Richmond full that weekend so I won’t be there to scream across the trails to run harder cheer them on.

My two fastest boys have won both meets by a significantly faster time than any of the other boys out there. Phillip finished the 1.1 miles in 6:43, and Cameron in 6:44. Rounding out the top 10, in addition to taking 1st and 2nd we took 7th, 8th and 10th place.

My kids have an issue with being lazy on long runs. Now, these are 6th, 7th and 8th graders so when you threaten them with running sprints for walking during said long runs, they break out in cheers. Clearly, they haven’t learned that sprints and speed work will transform into being the bane of their running existence as they get older. The most recent threat, and what seems to work, has been to tell them I’ll run the long runs WITH them if I catch them walking or being lazy. They know better than to disappoint Coach Stephanie, and believe it or not, CAN run the distance through without stopping. Hum, funny how that happens…

But seriously, I can’t express how proud I am of them. All 26 of their times improved from the first meet 2 weeks ago and I know they will only get better as we come to the end of the season in November.

Leave a Reply

