Uncategorized

Richmond Marathon Update

Well, my body was taken down by one of the worse viruses I’ve ever experience for all of last week. With the week I gave my body to recover from Hinson Lake and the week I’ve been forced to take off due to illness, I’m now way behind my training for the Richmond full November 16th.

Last night I took a Yoga for Runners workshop at Moga Charlotte so see what state my body was in from two weeks away from the routine. Surprisingly, things felt alright. I’m a little sore today, but no worse than the usual post-yoga burn I’d feel any other time. Tomorrow, anticipating I get an all-clear to run, I look to get in 4 easy miles around the neighborhood after work. Thursday looks to hold a similar 4-5 mile plan with me hoping to tackle a hefty yet gentle long run on Saturday of 14 or 15 miles. I’m confident that I can get to the mileage as I really did train ALL summer for the 50 mile distance. My shortest long run of 15 was done a handful of times, building it up as a comfortable base.

My parents are making the trip from Columbus to see me compete in a distance race for the first time ever. I’m so excited to have the support of people I actually know on the course. It makes all the difference when you’re ready to give up at mile 22, but know that your Dad will be at the finish line holding your post-race beer to chug down the second you cross. Hayley and Brennan will also be there, and It was an absolute blast having them at the Patrick Henry Half earlier this fall.

But, with all that being said, I am nervous I won’t be ready. The course time limit for the marathon is 7 hours so there would be no issue to complete a slow and steady marathon in that time. However, I don’t want to waste my entire weekend trudging through the streets of Richmond while everyone else watches the great HSC-RMC rivalry football game at the hubby’s Alma Mater. My head is already in a bad place.

I did determine that I can switch down to the half marathon at the expo if I really don’t feel prepared. But we all know I’m not one to give up that easily. The next 5 weeks will be a lot of listening intently to my body while still giving it a little push in the right direction.

Any suggestions on how to tackle this?

8 thoughts on “Richmond Marathon Update

    1. Honestly, I eat based on what my body tells me it needs. I eat 3 hearty meals a day with 2-3 healthy snacks in between. I switch hydration between water, nuun and back to water and my meals prior to long runs are usually a combination of protein and carbs. So, to answer your question in a very lengthy way, not specifically 🙂

      1. I ‘ve never done a marathon before but I did several Olympic distance triathlons this year and from my experience, the way you eat during your training is the way you perform on race day. I have less than 60 days to my first marathon and my mileage is growing. A couple of weeks ago I decided to balance my diet in order to maximize recovery time. I cooked 4-5 days of meals at at time.

    1. Haha you’re totally right! I definitely could eat better but the way I’ve eaten so far for my last marathon and Ultra seemed to work. I have a hard time cooking meals in advance not knowing what my or my hubbies schedule will entail during the week.

  1. Sorry you got hit with a bug. Know that your training is going to carry you even with the down-time! You’ve got the base built so this isn’t going to hurt you much! I’ve read (way too many studies) on the loss of running fitness due to days off as I had to take a leave with a broken foot (much longer than week off you took!) and found that while a bit of aerobic capacity is lost (7% in two weeks) it all comes bounding back quite quickly and as long as you have a base, you don’t lose much more even after NINE WEEKS. It all levels off. Legs remember running and your base somehow amazingly remains. The cool thing is- you’re a tiny bit behind on your plan…but you’re still amazingly fit and can rebound from that no problem, because you’re awesome and fit! Rock it out and be confident in how far you’ve come. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

