Uncategorized

Exciting Thing are Happening

I come to you today with some exciting news.

As of Monday the 23rd of September, I will be accepting a position as an assistant volunteer coach for a Cross Country for Youth team here in the Charlotte area.

This opportunity came about pretty out of the blue, when the current head coach of my new program reached out for assistance on the Charlotte Running Club Facebook page. I didn’t have a clue what he was looking for and what the commitment would look like, but if there’s one thing I know for certain, I’ll take any opportunity to spread my passion for running to others, particularly children.

As of now, we have 25 students registered, with a majority of them being girls. I’ll take over coaching of the girls while Rich, the head coach, will handle the boys. He’s explained that I will have girls of all levels; Those who have just started running and those who are more experienced and will look to me to help them grow and improve. I’m excited for this challenge and to use my knowledge and experience to make a positive impact.

There’s more to this than running, though. The program also focuses on character building and Integrity, Respect, Sportsmanship, Responsibility, Perseverance, Teamwork, Commitment, Courage, Discipline and Leadership. These topics are extremely important at this age and, as Hayles put it, they are still willing to listen.

I urge you to check out the website and see what we’re all about. For those in the Charlotte area, I would love to see you out at some of our meets this fall. As the schedule becomes available, I’ll pass it along.

3 thoughts on “Exciting Thing are Happening

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words Amy! Check out Girls on the Run and Let me Run. Both are International groups that do a similar thing but with a 5k rather than cross country.

Leave a Reply

