Uncategorized

Tuesdays at the Track and Mushy Love

As you know, last week’s track workout was a bust. When I finally sat down on the couch that evening, my body calmly revolted at the idea. Instead, I enjoyed a Bud Light and a few episodes of Shark Week with the hubby.

Tonight’s workout will be what I was scheduled for last week:

  • Warm up – 2ish miles
  • Run 12 X 400 meters at your 5k pace with 200 jogs between. The key here is the short rest. You must balance a pace that allow you to continue jogging the rest and still be able to maintain consistent 400 splits. This is a very nice test of strength and something that I used back at both Georgetown and Kansas to prepare to run as close to a 14 minute 5k as possible.
  • Cool Down – 2-3 minutes / stretch

I’m hoping and praying all this speedwork will help me next weekend for the Patrick Henry Half. I’m really hoping for a PR (well into the sub-2s) but as I’m smack dab in the middle of Ultra and Marathon training, my pace has slowed substantially. I think the last time I ran a non-interval long run was a couple months ago. The idea of running 13.1 at a race pace straight through is downright scary.

On a similar note, I’m contemplating adjusting my long run for this weekend. I’m scheduled to run 24 but with the half next weekend, I’m considering shortening it to 13 on Saturday and 11 on Sunday. I’ll still get in the mileage I need for the 24 hour Ultra but it’ll be split up so I’m able to see how my body will react to running straight through.

Anyway, I wanted to spend a few minutes gushing about my amazing husband. For those with a weak stomach, I suggest you take some anti-nausea pills now..

image
My crazy family…

 

I’m so beyond blessed to have met a man that makes me a better person daily. In a little over 3 years, he has made me a more patient, forgiving, loving, truthful and confident person. He’s challenged me to have a deeper more rewarding relationship with God and put that relationship at the forefront of my priorities in life.

This past weekend we celebrated our 3 months of wedded bliss and it dawned on me. I don’t know what I did to deserve a man like him, but I’m so grateful for it. I don’t think without my previous struggles and transgressions I would have ever been ready for such an amazing change in my life.

photo
Wilmington, NC 

Next weekend, the hubby will run his first half marathon of what I hope to be many. I’m so proud of the hard work and dedication he’s put forth to be ready for this race and I know he’ll do great. I’m so very excited to stand at the finish line and cheer him in. Heck, I may even run back out on the course to run with him. Can’t wait!

How’s your Tuesday going?!

Leave a Reply

