Uncategorized

When the Cat’s Away, the Mice Will Play

Welp.

It’s been a few days since I’ve written. Can you find it in your heart to forgive me? I’ll make dinner? er, cookies?

This past weekend, Kevin traveled home to VA so that left me to enjoy the terrifying quiet of the house and make my own plans. In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a pretty independent woman, so finding things to take up 3 days shouldn’t really be that hard, right? Wrong. This weekend comprised of way too many naps, television episodes and sleepless nights (both from said naps and my extremely active imagination convincing me that someone was trying to break into the house, murder Lilly and then murder me.) Friday started off with a great morning run with Hayley. We took on the hilly 4 mile loop and chatted about various topics, but particularly the incident that occurred outside her apartment last Thursday night involving alcohol, operating a car and a parked car… I’m sure you can put two and two together and figure out what happened, but her description of the encounter is pretty crazy (so make sure you read it here.) I was extremely grateful for her company as I thought it may likely be the only human contact I had until Saturday morning, and I was correct. Everyone in my office is traveling or works remotely so I was the only one there. My friends from UPS and FedEx didn’t even stop in to say hello. Needless to say, I was down and out. I finally pried myself off the couch after too many hours of Rizzoli and Isles, Castle and some creepy ghost show and went to bed.

Saturday was meet 1 of the Charlotte Running Club (CRC) track series. It was a tough weekend to start the series off as 24 Hours of Booty took place Friday-Saturday and there were numerous races out and about town. We had a decent showing of 18 or so, but needless to say, we broke world records for the fastest 6 event track meet. I raced home immediately after the event to get in a few miles before our CRC mid-year board meeting began at a fellow member’s office Uptown. We were extremely productive over the 3+ hours and I was grateful for the laughs. Saturday night ended with a marathon 5 hour Skype session with my MOH before I finally drug myself to bed around midnight.

Sunday afternoon was my first FlyWheel power hour and holy cow was it tough. You wouldn’t expect an additional 15 minutes to have that major of an impact, but those 5 extra songs really fatigued my legs. However, if you know me, you know I love any excuse to sweat and I’ll limp around for days with a smile on my face.

Last night was my Tuesday track workout. This week’s workout included a 10 minute warm-up (1 mile), 3 x (200m @ 1 mile pace/200m jog/400m @ 5K pace/400m jog), and a 10 minute cool down. It took much less time than last week’s workout but proved to be just as challenging. I expected to wake up sore this morning but fortunately, aside from a little tightness, no issues!

Tonight is the NoDa Run Club Beer Run. 3 mile hilly tempo and an ice cold beer afterwards. For a number of reasons, it’s been a rough start to the week. I’m very much looking forward to relieving some of my stress in a productive manner.

What did YOU do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

