Uncategorized

Lost: My Mojo, reward offered

This weekend was one of the best and one of the worst in recent memory. While I won’t be going into detail about the later situations, I feel as though I have to focus on some of the other things that happened in order to move forward in a positive manner.

The Firecracker 5K took place on Wednesday night in South Charlotte. This was the 3rd year for the event and my 3rd year participating. This event is one of my favorites in Charlotte and really is my only 4th of July tradition. The course is tough. Rolling hills coupled with narrow streets and a usually brutal heat/humidity combo makes for one of the more challenging races in the area. This summer 5K season started off extremely well for me with times decreasing on my first two races (Upper 23 and lower 23) and my body showing no inhibitions of continuing that. But, with the perfect storm of conditions, this race didn’t prove to be quite as perfect. I finished with a time of 24:30, 2 minutes better then last year’s event. An improved time is always a good time, but I have to admit, I was disappointed. I walked on the hill near mile 2 and felt everything come crashing down soon after. My body was exhausted. I forced myself to get back into the groove and finished out in a relatively strong manner.

Image

I need to learn to take the good with the bad when it comes to my running. While it didn’t exactly set the tone for the rest of the weekend, between that and my terrible training run on Tuesday there was a huge cloud hanging over my head the rest of the break. I wasn’t able to make my Saturday or Sunday training runs due to stomach issues so my 50K training has taken a turn for the worse.

I need to find my mojo. Both personally and when it comes to my training. I feel like I’ve plummeted into a deep, dark hole and I’m having an extremely difficult time figuring out how to climb out. I don’t think I’ve felt this low in years.

I’m blessed beyond belief to have a forgiving and supportive husband who has stood by me and will continue to stand by me as I figure things out.

Until the time when things are okay again, I’m going to focus on a few key points:

  • It’s okay to mess up, as long as you learn from it.
  • It’s okay to ask for help.
  • It’s okay to fail, as long as you know that each failure makes you stronger.
  • It’s okay to be afraid. Fear means you’re truly challenging yourself.

I start back tomorrow with 50K training. While the last 2 weeks have been a pretty solid wash, I’m confident that things can only go up from here. Be strong, stay strong.

One thought on “Lost: My Mojo, reward offered

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! You have no idea what an inspiration you are to people! I love you and feel free to call if you need to talk ❤

Leave a Reply

