Uncategorized

Running into an update

So instead of taking a rest day (and considering I missed my run on Wednesday due to the stellar allergy attack I explained in yesterday’s post) I got up and dodged giant overgrown trees and bushes that I swear grew more than a foot overnight ran with the girls this morning. The weather was perfect, and not just from a runner’s perspective. The temperature was cool, there was a light breeze, humidity was nonexistent and it was peaceful and quiet (you know, aside from us jabbering through the 6 miles). These are the days when I appreciate my life and ability TO get up and run, so much more. Plus no one fell (see post about H’s epic and particularly graceful fall a month or so ago).

Anyway, on the run we passed a couple fellow runners who warmly greeted us with ‘hellos’ and ‘good mornings’ . This brought up the topic I blogged about earlier this week in regards to greenway etiquette and why it’s ‘so damn difficult to respond to a greeting?!’ I suddenly remembered an article in Runners World, written by Mark Remy, that I had come across after my rant blog entry that actually explained why this exact thing occurs. Research has discovered that certain runner’s simply CANNOT respond to greetings because they lack that region of the brain. What? Okay, mind blown. Rather than butchering his article, I’m going to post a portion of it that explains things:

Note: Bold is Mark Remy and italicized is Dr. Daily.

Right. Well, what can you tell us about this topic, from a doctor’s perspective? Why do some runners completely ignore others, even after those other runners offer a polite “hi” or “good morning” or simply a wave?
The short answer is, they’re unable to do otherwise.

Unable? What does that mean?
That means “not able.”

I see.
Research has found that in certain runners, the region of the brain responsible for recognizing and responding to friendliness and common courtesy is diminished or, in rare cases, missing altogether.

Fascinating. 
It’s a very small bit, found in the parietal lobe, called Steve.

Read on to hear more about this ‘Steve’ part of the brain and why people aren’t always just being giant ass holes.

Now, with that being said, I don’t think EVERY person who ignores my greetings and waves suffers from this condition, but it makes me take things far less personally think twice before getting flustered mid-run (and who wants to be flustered during a calming run anyway?)

Looking forward to a fantastic long run tomorrow in weather very similar to today’s.

What are your running/racing plans for the weekend?

Leave a Reply

