Running · Uncategorized

Sprints and Flywheel and core work – OH MY!

 “I trying this new fad called uh, jogging. I believe it’s jogging or yogging. it might be a soft j. I’m not sure but apparently you just run for an extended period of time. It’s supposed to be wild.”

– Ron Burgundy, Anchorman 

Yesterday, on the unhappy to happy Stephanie scale, I was about a 3. Some of you may know I have a bizarre allergy to red dye #40. Red dye #40 is found in effing everything a number of different foods, drinks, candies, sauces, medicines… you name it, there’s probably a version that has red dye. Now, what occurred on Tuesday night and continued on most of yesterday was a direct result of me being an idiot  both my fault and not my fault.  I ventured out for a nice salad and iced tea for lunch and as I was staring at the three iced tea options, came to the conclusion that “oh, Acai is naturally red, so there probably isn’t any red dye in this!” WRONG. After chugging nearly have of the friggin cup a few sips I started to feel woozy, itchy and get that fun little feeling in my throat which meant it was going to start closing. I immediately threw the iced tea out and began chugging water as fast as possible. The rest of the night was a mess. I had plans to go out with the hubby for drinks and apps but that wasn’t going to happen. I proceeded to lay on the couch watching TV until 7 when I gave up and went to bed. I slept almost straight through until the next morning. I woke up at 6AM and didn’t feel much better. Fortunately, I have an unbelievably gracious husband and he drove me to my office so I could pick up my folders and computer to be able to work from home all day. From a productivity standpoint, I was more productive working from home for a day than I have been in what seems like weeks in the physical office. So I suppose that was a win.

Needless to say my workouts were a wash Wednesday and this morning. To make up for that, I’ll be getting my 75-90 minute run in tomorrow with Hayley and running to my Flywheel class as my way of getting in my hill workout.

Speaking off Flywheel, if you haven’t taken a class yet, what are you waiting for?! Your first class is free and they have locations throughout the country (and Dubai if that’s your thing). http://www.flywheelsports.com/ I attend classes in Charlotte and Ballantyne so if you’d like a partner for your first class, let me know and I’d be happy to join you! I’ll go into more detail in a later post but it’s leaps and bounds better than traditional spin classes (at least for me and my workout preferences).

Considering I was in no way, shape or form able to leave the house yesterday, I took what little food we have available and created a surprisingly great lunch.

photo

The combo above included two turkey hot dogs, sauteed spinach, diced garlic, a little bit of pepper and some cheese. The bread was a simple garlic bread I made realizing the spinach had cooked down to much smaller than my tummy was screaming for.

What’s your favorite way to get in those cross training sessions? 

2 thoughts on “Sprints and Flywheel and core work – OH MY!

  1. That’s funny that you mention Dubai. My good friend Christina is a big runner like you and she HATES spin class. As I was reading this I thought hmm maybe she will like flywheel!? Then you said they even have it in Dubai…her and her husband are moving to Dubai! LoL! So I told her about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

