Running · Uncategorized

A Running Quiz

After yesterday’s post, my brain needs a little break in the way of writing so I’m going to partake in this quiz making its way around the Running Blog world.

1.  On average how many races do you run a year?

If you ask my bank account and IT Band, too many.

Probably 20 a year. Mostly 5Ks with a few 10Ks, halfs and now a marathon+ or two.

2.  Head accessories, things you have to run with:  a hat, a visor, sunglasses, chapstick, sunscreen, head band, ponytail, braids, sweat band?

I always wear a hat and my sunglasses. I recently won a contest online and received a pair of Tifosi sunglasses and I’m in LOVE.

3.  Where do your workouts come from?  A training plan, a coach, whatever you feel like doing that day or what your training partner is doing that day?

It’s a combination of things. Right now I’m training. While I try and stay as close to my training plans as possible, when I’m running with a group or buddy, I may end up altering what I’m doing in order to run with them. When I’m not on a plan, it’s whatever I feel like doing that day.

4.  How many miles on average do you put on a pair of shoes? 

I try not to put over 400 but sometimes the bank account doesn’t give much of an option.

5.  Cell phone=  do you bring it with you on your run or leave it at home?

I’m clumsy enough as it is. The last thing I need is to bring my iPhone with me and shatter it from a fall.

6.  What was your last running related injury or have you been an injury free runner?

I have, what I’m pretty sure has turned into a chronic issue, IT Band Syndrome. Prior to that I had a stress fracture from running the SCREAM! Half Marathon. Let’s hope that I’m able to stay injury-free for a while.

7.  Is your current running goal about running a farther distance (adding more mileage) or getting faster or BOTH?!?

Both. I want to get back to the speed I had in college (20 minute 5K PR with my current PR in Charlotte around 22 minutes) but I also want to hit my 50K and over goal.

8.  Speedwork—->  at the track, on the treadmill, on the roads or never do it?

At the track every summer.

9.  Stretching after a run:  hit the ground after a run and get stretching, stretch in the shower, stretch once you get to work/school, skip the stretching?

Umm. I skip it more often than I should. I almost always use my Stick or foam roller and I’ll always stretch when I’ve done long runs with a group.

10.  What was your reason(S) for starting to run? 

Initially, I started running for charity events. I think my first ever 5K was the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in honor and memory of friends and family members. But from there, it developed into more. From a physical standpoint, I started running because it was a challenge to my mind and my body. I always felt great after a workout and I never regretted going for a run once I finally got out there.  Now I run for all those reasons. I run for those who cannot, I run for myself. I run because I couldn’t imagine not running.

Leave a Reply

