Uncategorized

Confessions of a non-fat fat kid…

Hmm, I seem to have a lot of confessions as of late…

I’m taking a break from this morning’s extreme productivity because really, one can only be productive like that for so long.

Last night at Flywheel I achieved my personal best power number of 335. That was almost 100 over my previous PB. I felt great, my legs felt great, my cardio was stellar and I’m confident I could have ridden for at least another hour. With that being said, I’m going to make note of everything I consumed yesterday because it obviously did the trick. Here’s hoping I can repeat this for my upcoming marathon and 24-hour ultra!

Breakfast:

I was running late yesterday morning so unfortunately I wasn’t able to snag my traditional breakfast-of-choice, a banana and oatmeal. As soon as I began the commute into work it became very apparent that I was having a ‘case of the Mondays.’ Ere-go, Starbucks was a must. I ordered the usual, a grande Skinny Vanilla Latte (with straw, because who actually WANTS to stain their teeth?) and decided on a spinach and feta breakfast wrap.

9df291cb6e0e434a9622d8d833295ae8

A wheat wrap filled with cage-free egg white, spinach, feta cheese and tomatoes: 290 Calories.

Lunch:

Obviously, as I was unable to grab my breakfast, I certainly didn’t have time to make my lunch. I made an easy decision and strolled over to Chick-Fil-A on Rea Road. Unfortunately, they had a new menu item that caught my attention and It was apparent that this wasn’t going to be an easy ‘side salad with grilled nuggets lunch’ decision. I settled on trying their new Chick-Fil-A Grilled Chicken Cool Wrap. The wrap comes with an avocado-lime ranch dressing and if you know me at all, you know ranch and avocado are two staples in my diet.

photo

Flaxseed flour flat bread, grilled chicken, cabbage, lettuce, and an orgy of Monterey jack and cheddar cheeses ; 330 calories

Snack:

I plugged away the rest of the work day until my mid-day snack when I always find myself getting the itch for something sweet. Last week I purchased a Teeter  2 for $6.00 special, Chobani Greek Yogurt, Bite. This unbelievable little snack features raspberry greek yogurt with dark chocolate chips for a mear 100 calories.

photo 2

YUM

Dinner:

After running a few wedding errands, I found myself searching my pantry for something to eat before the 7:15PM FlyWheel class that wouldn’t find itself coming back up on the first climb. Cooked and peeled beets with ranch dressing and pita chips rounded out the evening’s meal. Now, I know you’re reading this thinking, beets and ranch dressing? Are you out of your f*cking mind? It’s strange. I know. But take a look at my numbers below and you can be the judge of whether or not my strange day of nutrition made for an epic ride.

photo

Slightly blurry, but you get the idea.

While you’re down here, why not check out my friend Hayley’s blog? It’s thumbs-up Tuesday and she just reviewed one of my favorite Teeter pre-made dinner options – the veggie chili.

http://iamlyons.com/2013/05/07/thumbs-up-tuesday-chili-cheddar-and-chinnamon/

Leave a Reply

