Uncategorized

Spring Fever

The time has finally come to shout my good news from the mountaintops. Since being laid-off in February I have secured a new position as a Director of Marketing for a small agency here in Charlotte. This comes after taking a good bit of time to ponder the scenario I had discussed in my last post of the importance of quality of life vs. having my dream job. The more time that passes, and the closer I get to my start date next week the more confident I am in having made a quality of life decision. I know that this new position and organization will open up wonderful opportunities for me, both now and in the long term. I look forward to feeling challenged for the first time in what feels like ages.

Wedding planning is finally getting to a point where I feel as if everything that needs to get done will get done over the coming month. My brain no longer reverts to suggesting I sit myself in a corner and rock back and forth humming when I look at my to-do list.

Spring has finally arrived in the South. For those of you who aren’t familiar with this beautiful time of year I’ll explain it like this: Your car, regardless of color, becomes a algae-colored mess of pollen, your post-run ritual entails picking worms out of your running buddies hair and off their clothing, as said worms hang from then fall out of the trees, and the bees, wasps and other flying bugs begin to come out of hiding, feeling no remorse flying directly into your face and causing you to flail uncontrollably in public settings. Don’t get me wrong, I love the warm heat of the sun but these first few weeks of spring are nothing short of miserable.

ImageI look forward to sharing my trip to NYC with all of you upon my return next week.

Leave a Reply

