Uncategorized

Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Layoff. One word I never dreamed I’d hear in my 20’s, let alone from a company where I spent nearly 3 dedicated years. Needless to say, I have a lot of time on my hands. As a way to keep myself fresh and honest as I whore myself out to the corporate world hoping someone will appreciate the skills I have to offer, I’ve decided to return to blogging. Forgive me in advance if my posts come across more cynical than usual. I’m still working through my 5 stages of grief.

I’m a breakfast addict. Regardless of time of day, there’s nothing quite like battling the hearty vs. sweet vs. healthy conundrum. It’s much like staring at the wall of 60 taps at Duckworths and feeling that sense of overwhelming pressure knowing that your decision could set the tone for the rest of the night, and the next morning. This morning’s drink of choice – peanut butter oatmeal. There’s just something about turning a healthy breakfast option into a symphony of rich, high calorie globs of goodness. This especially plays true when there’s an equally outrageous workout to be completed at some point later in the day. Let’s be honest, I’ll use any excuse to eat junk. Ran 15 miles 3 days ago? Recovery food. Taking a FlyBarre class? Energy + to get my arms lifting those weights without falling over. Ran up the stars in my town home? Clearly that deserves a cookie because Lord knows my knees don’t function well on stairs. I firmly believe other distance runners have a similar mentality when it comes to eating. We don’t eat to live, we live to eat.

I leave you with a final thought for this morning. I’m struggling to determine what is more important when it comes to securing a new position; ones quality of life or holding out for something where one is guaranteed to be challenged by something new and exciting? I will continue to noodle on this issue in the days to come I’m sure. Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

